Poznań fountains

This post is for Gilly, lover of fountains.

 

Fountains proliferate in Poznań. A vast one below road level in the new station area …

 

 

… a small unassuming one in park on a corner with a background of the grand castle area …

 

 

… an imposing one in front of the opera house, demanding attention from many angles and spreading a sense of grandeur to the pansy beds surrounding it …

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and in Stary Rynek, two fountains, more like statues with a water component, their main role for me to show off the streetscape of the Square, and provide the odd incidental splash. The musician has an added role, backdrop to one of those living statues, a tall man, white-faced, robed in white, garlanded under his cowl, all dignity and creepy stillness. But every hour or so, he hoiks his robes up over battered jeans and ties them round his waist before taking off for a break. Then he look like a superannuated surfie from Potato Point.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Poznań fountains

  1. I wish I had the time and energy to campaign for a fountain here in Exeter, I’m getting very jealous of the beauties in Poland, it’s not fair (big pouty lips!) I’ve been in a fountain desert for my whole life 🙂 Thank you lovely Meg for showing me these ❤

    • I love having someone to photograph fountains for: it makes me pay closer attention. Australia’s not real strong on town fountains either, maybe because we have water shortages, although there are a number in Sydney. There was one in Moruya once (my evil eldest daughter added detergent to it one night in her misspent youth) but it’s no longer there.
      I think my favourite fountain experience was in a courtyard in an unassuming palace in Hama (probably destroyed by the horrible events in Syria now): the guardian came and activated it for me (and also provided me with an old door to lie on when he saw me prone photographing the ceiling.) There was also one in a marble basin in a calligraphy gallery in Damascus, but it was a mixed blessing: it reduced the already icy temperature considerably.

      (See what you’ve done! Provoked a memory cascade!)

      I love your phrase “a fountain desert” – and I can visualise your “big pouty lips”.

      • I’m happy if I’ve brought back memories, have you ever blogged about Syria? Do you still have the ceiling photo? I think I’d like that daughter or yours 🙂

        • Syria was way before blogging days, but I do have a ceiling photo. Maybe I’ll begin blogging the past while I’m in Queensland, looking after said daughter’s alpacas, dogs, chooks, cat and neighbour.

  2. What an interesting life you’ve led, Meg! (re. the conversation with Gilly 🙂 ) Absolutely adore the whoosh of fountains. Wroclaw possibly my best to date 🙂

  3. Pingback: Poznań miscellanea – Warsaw 2018

Leave a comment