Warsaw Botanic Gardens

J's foray into the Botanic Gardens yesterday tempted me to visit today. My last visit was in August 2013, when things looked very different. The weren't many people about today: a couple of groups of school children were tethered by projects – one group seemed to be photographing, the other constructing something out of wood. I ambled lazily, camera at the ready for the luxuriance of flowers. I walked past grand old trees labelled “Pomnik przyrody” (natural monument); under arches entwined now only with leaves; along green alleys; through an area of water boxes; past a slightly slimy fountain; into formal gardens under planting; finally reaching a rush of colour – pink, apricot, mauve, white, orange – against the green of tall trees, and foregrounded by splendid iris, some fully out, some still only furled buds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The waterlilies are perennial reminders of Christine who was still sharing her earth-life with us this time last year and whose friendship and blogging I miss profoundly.

 

10 thoughts on “Warsaw Botanic Gardens

  1. Meg thanks for the link to Amy. I miss Christine so much. Next week I’m going back to somewhere I took her, I’ve put it off for ages and I’ll be very sad.

  2. Beautiful floral displays Meg. Love the irises, azaleas and peonies. But what are those balls hanging from the tree with grasses randomly pushed through?

  3. Thank you for the lovely stroll through the botanical gardens Meg. I miss Christine too. It is a source of comfort for me to go back to my old posts and read her thoughtful comments.

  4. Pingback: Wild orchids for Meg, meeting Marathon Man, then elderflower sorbet to finish | Tish Farrell

Leave a comment