Shopping in Praga

After sleeping in till 9 – unheard of at home – I tackle the washing. A seemingly simple task, since all the settings are expressed in icons, not Polish. I still manage to end up with a dripping wash, which somehow doesn't make it to the spin cycle. I cogitate, reset, and go out, leaving the recalcitrant to its own devices.

The morning air is cold, and fog beheads Stalin's Gift. I walk along ulica Chmielna – past chocolate and umbrella shops, a stall selling tulip buds, the entrance to a language school, a window full of bright folk art china, a shop selling organic produce – to Nowy Świat, breathing in the familiarity along with the chill. I am relieved to find that the whole of Warsaw isn't decorated with masked teddy bears.

Near the lane way down to Mariensztat, our 'hood on the last visit, I encounter a giant throne surrounded by giant parcels, a train that looks like a blingified Tootle, and fairy lights glinting on the bare trunks and branches of street trees. In the expanse of Plac Zamkowy, there are small piles of grimy snow and a towering Christmas tree, decorated with bonbons and lolly pops.

The Wisła is flowing wide and grey, and the once-leafy parkland near the zoo is stark bareness. I pass two spectacular churches (St Florian's cathedral and the Orthodox Church of St Mary Magdalene), a colony of polar bears, and signs that Warsaw's second metro line has finally gone underground, although it's not operating yet. As always in Warsaw there is a reminder of the horrors of WW2, a stone memorial to Janusz Korczak. He was the director of an orphanage, and insisted on going to Treblinka extermination camp with the orphans, although he was offered safety.

Then I am in the shopping complex, today's goal. I manage to harvest a frying pan, an egg whisk, a grater, a vase, a flurry of plastic containers, and the ultimate triumph: three plain-page notebooks. These have become essential to managing my life, and finding plain page in a world of lines and graph paper is not easy. I am now well-stocked, although cartoon cows are not my cover-image of choice. I negotiate the checkout with one small glitch, failing to understand the order to leave my basket inside.

Cold makes my legs ache, so I am glad to get back on the tram. I buy three orange and pink long-stemmed roses, something I would not do at home, stung by my son-in-law's comment that my apartment looks like a motel room.

When I arrive home with my booty, the washing machine has done its duty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

T

 

17 thoughts on “Shopping in Praga

  1. There is a wonderful post-Soviet surreal quality to this. I’m loving the writing style you are developing here – I want more. 🙂

      • It’s those layered descriptions of the quirky, the unexpected and those hints of the bizarre. Your comment on the keys touches on this too.
        There is something about being alone in Europe that affects the Australian psyche I think. It’s hard to put on a finger on but the differences environment and cultures heightens our perceptions but please don’t try and make your writing fit what you think your readers want. Just keep the flow happening – something is emerging of its own accord here I think

  2. I’m surprised that the Christmas decorations are still there. Still, they brighten a grey environment and thus give pleasure to people. I particularly like the polar bear. You have a wonderful view of Stalin’s gift. Every city mayor who wants to encourage high-rise buildings in heritage areas should see it. I am glad that your familiarity with Warsaw has made the transition easy this time when I remember the courage it took the first time to negotiate everyday transactions. Yes, Warsaw has become your second home.

    • Last time I wintered in Warsaw the decorations were coming down just as I left at the end of January. You’re right: it’s infinitely easier this time. (Added insult – Stalin’s Gift was virtually built out of rubble. No heritage left.)

      • At least the re-constructed heritage, which Warsaw has done so magnificently, might have been accorded greater respect. I agree about the added insult to the long-suffering people of Warsaw. Who uses Stalin’s Gift these days? Office space, residential accommodation?

  3. I suppose keeping the Christmas things up makes winter a bit brighter, or perhaps they are there all year? These photos show a more interesting city, I like the wide pavements and the square. I had to go back to your last post to work out what Stalin’s Gift was, so far I like what I can see of it, do you?

  4. I enjoyed taking a trip to the shopping complex with you Meg. The city looks very clean and so few cars and people. Is that normal? The decorations add a touch of colour to the streets and that is a lovely realistic polar bear.

    • I tend to edit people out of photos! Easy to do because I was out early by Warsaw standards. Nowy Świat teems with people in the evening, often enjoying the decorations in illuminated glory. I need to learn night photography quickly! The tourist part of the city is kept very clean.

  5. They don’t rush to take down their Christmas decorations do they? Maybe it is a permanent winter display to cheer people up. Those skies are very grey. Love the onion domes. You cannot mistake this city for anywhere but eastern Europe. Looks like Prague, Ljubljana, Bratislava and I suspect parts of Vienna too. Such a lot of history in that part of the world.

    • I’m glad the decorations are still there. I’m trying, on my fourth visit to get my head around the fact that the whole area where I prowl was pulverized by the Germans and rebuilt under the Russians. It’s now undergoing massive treatment for rising damp, and the are always cobblestones being replaced.

  6. I’ve been inside Stalin’s Gift, but only very briefly. I’d love to go up for that rooftop view, but not on such a day, obviously 🙂 Heavy skies, Meg! Still quite blue here but the snow’s coming. I love the polar bear too. Hope we don’t get enough snow so that I can build my own 🙂

  7. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Praia da Rocha | restlessjo

Leave a comment